5 top tips on how to make a realistic health and fitness plan

Hey everyone!

I am so sorry I haven’t posted for what feels like a lifetime. I have been so busy and admittedly wasn’t making the time for my blog. But I am back! 🙂

It’s that time of year again when everyone is doing their best to look and feel better about themselves ready for their summer holiday. I used to be so guilty of making a mad dash to lose some weight and tone up for summer but my goals were never realistic so no wonder I never really got anywhere.

It was in April that I decided to make the decision to join slimming world. I have to say it was one of the best decisions I have ever made! It’s not a “fad diet” or a “quick fix to lose weight” I feel its more of an educational healthy lifestyle. I have lost just over a stone since April. Don’t get me wrong I have had a few weeks where I have either maintained my weight or put on a little but the week after that will always even it out because I will then lose. I will probably do a separate post on slimming world and my journey so far on it but for now I have put together a list of tips using my knowledge from slimming world for you to start your fitness and healthy eating regime – enjoy!

1. Set realistic goals

I hate to break it to you but saying to yourself I am going to look like a fitness model in 2 weeks is just not going to happen. No matter how much you try to starve yourself (which is super unhealthy by the way) and no matter how many times you go to the gym in those two weeks it’s just not going to happen. Your body needs time to adjust to your new lifestyle and this can take a couple of weeks to even begin.

You are much better off starting at least 3 months before in order to see results. Again, even with this timeframe you need to be realistic. For example if you have a couple of weeks in a 2 month period where you have completely binged, not done any exercise and not stuck to your plan, you cannot expect to get the results you want in those two months. After your binge, your body will need a few days, maybe even a week to adjust to being healthy again. Just something to bear in mind.

2. EAT!! 

I cannot stress this enough. Don’t get me wrong, im not saying go out and eat 5 cheeseburgers a day. Absolutely not. But eat good healthy food which will energize your body. Believe it or not, your body needs fuel and energy in order to burn fat. You don’t need to sit and eat rabbit food for the rest of your life either. Pasta, rice all those sorts of things are still good for you. Don’t listen to these myths “carbs are bad for you”. Carbs are what you body needs for energy. I would also recommend filling your plate up with at last 1/3 vegetables or salad. For those who don’t like vegatables, try cooking them in some salt to give them some flavour or use a low-fat salad dressing to sprinkle on your salad. Balsamic vinegar or the glaze is a brilliant one to use!

A typical day for meals for me is:

Breakfast

Weetabix minis with chocolate chip and semi skimmed milk with a satsuma

Lunch

Chicken cous cous salad: chicken, peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, salad leaves, olives and cous cous. I normally cook my cous cous in chicken stock to give it flavour. Absolutely delish!

Dinner

Spaghetti Bolognese made from scratch

I would also have some sort of treat in the day as well (normally chocolate as I’m a complete chocoholic!)

As much as people say that starving yourself and staying away from treats works, you are only going to binge on it all after a certain amount of time because your body is craving it so much. You will then find yourself going backwards which is not what you want.

Losing weight isn’t easy for anyone, but maintaining it is even harder. So if you spread out the naughty foods you like or cut down on them e.g. having 4 chocolate fingers instead of the whole packet, you are much more likely to see results.

3. Take progress photos and measurements 

A lot of people, myself included do weigh themselves. As I joined slimming world in April I get weighed every week. However, because I also go to the gym and do weigh work as well as cardio, the scales might not always truly reflect how much fat I am losing and how much my body shape is transforming. My consultant has said if I have been on plan all week and also spent quite a few days in the gym, measure myself because that may reflect it more.

4. Listen to your body

Your body is a wonderful thing and is extremely smart at sending you messages. It’s really important you listen to your body. Whether it be slow down on exercise, eat more or just take a bit more care of it. Your body will send your various signals and although you may not want to listen to it, you will only end up going backwards if you don’t.

If you are hungry, maybe have some water as you might actually be thirsty. However, if you haven’t eaten in 6 hours chances are your body is screaming for some energy. Think of it like a car’s fuel light illuminating and telling you it’s running low on fuel. If you don’t fill the car up, eventually the car will become stationary and won’t be able to go anywhere. It’s the same with your body. Another example is if you are becoming extremely fatigue before, during or after exercise, this is your body telling you to slow down. “I NEED A REST!” And it’s ok to rest your body. It needs it.

5. Don’t completely cut out your treats

For some people, this might sound really silly but believe me you shouldn’t totally cut them out. What happens when you completely starve yourself of treats? Your body craves them even more. We have all been there. Whether it be 2 weeks or 2 months, after a certain amount of time you will go on a total binge on the bad stuff and will waste all that hard work.

I find having small treats every now and then is much more sustainable. In fact, I have a little treat every day. Whether it be an extra bowl of cereal, a chocolate bar, or a packet of crisps. As long as I have eaten well the rest of the day my body is totally satisfied when I have my treat. It also means I’m not ravenous and craving it by the end of the week and blow it over the weekend.

I hope these tips ar helpful. Don’t get me wrong I am not sat here typing thinking I am an expert in diet and exercise, but these are things which have personally helped me.

If you have any questions or want to know more about my slimming world plan, please let me know. I have actually set up a separate instagram account for my pictures of my food and drink. If you want to check it out my user name is: carrie_sw91

Thanks for reading!

C x

Leave a Reply

